Published on:

Atlanta Lawyer Tom Nagel discusses Georgia drivers license issues with 17 and 21 year olds

Note May 22

I routinely get calls regarding issues involving Georgia licensed drivers under the age of 21. In Georgia, if you are under the age of 21, different laws apply regarding when The Georgia Department of Driver Services will suspend your license. For example, if you’re over 21 and are convicted of a traffic offense that carries four or more points, in most cases, your license will not be suspended. Conversely, if you are under the age of 21 at the time of conviction of a traffic offense that carries four or more points, your license will be suspended for six months or longer depending on your driving record and current charges.

Note May 22-2

If you possess a Georgia drivers license and are under 18, different laws apply. A conviction of a four point traffic offense will result in suspension of your of your Georgia drivers license. However, the accumulation of four points will also result in a suspension of your Georgia drivers license. For example, if you are convicted of speeding 14 miles an hour over the speed limit but less than 19 miles an hour over the speed limit, that would put two points on your record. Then you get pulled over a month later and you’re convicted of the same thing, or possessing an open container of alcoholic beverage while driving or any another two point offense, that’s another two point violation. You’ve accumulated four points and the Georgia Department of Drivers Services, also known as Georgia DDS, will send you notice of their intent to suspend your privileges to drive.

If you were under 17 years old at the time of the offense, your case will be transferred to the juvenile court in the county where the offense occurred. Different laws and procedures apply in juvenile court.

When the Georgia Department of Driver Services sends you a notice of license suspension, you must file an appeal within 10 days. There are exceptions for filing outside of the 10 days. If you’re under 18 and accumulate four points, or you’re between 18 and 21 and are convicted of a four-point traffic offense, your license will be suspended unless you win on appeal. The Georgia Office of State Administrative Hearings “Georgia OSAH” is the organization that handles your appeal.

If you possess a Georgia license and you’re under 21, different laws apply regarding the suspension of your drivers license.

Call me now at 404-255-1600 to discuss your case. The sooner you deal with it, the more options you have.