Articles Posted in DUI In the News

Published on:

After the recent DUI arrest of a mother in Roswell, Georgia, MADD is looking to change the law regarding DUI when an individual is arrested for DUI and children are in the car at the time of arrest. Currently under Georgia law, if you are transporting a child UNDER the age of 14 while DUI you are subject to misdemeanor punishment of up to a $1,000.00 fine and 1 year in jail for a first or second offense. A third or subsequent offense is a Felony subject to a $1,000.00-$5,000.00 and 1-3 years in jail.

MADD wants to change the law in Senate Bill 13 to make a second offense DUI with a child in the car a felony with the additional requirement for police to notify DEFACS. Although MADD lobbyists have been successful over the years pushing for changes in Georgia DUI law, in my opinion, Senate Bill 13 will not go through as the law was recently changed to make a fourth offense DUI in a ten year period a felony.

If you have been charged with DUI and child endangerment, you need to know what you are up against when you go to court. Special rules regarding suspension of your Georgia Driver’s License apply. Before you face the judge, call me to discuss your case today.