Articles Posted in Hit & Run

Published on:

speeding-1-1091825-m.jpgIn Prigmore v. State, the defendant was arrested for a hit and run under OCGA ยง 40-6-270. He was also arrested for vehicular homicide, reckless driving, and driving under the influence of drugs.

Under the hit and run statute, a driver of any vehicle that is involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to anybody is required to stop the car at the scene. If the driver can’t stop right at the scene, he or she must stop as close to the scene as possible and go back to the scene to give help to the victims. For a first conviction, the defendant must be fined between $300 and $1,000, which may not be subject to suspension, stay, or probation, or imprisoned for up to 12 months.

In Prigmore v. State, the defendant was driving along Lawrenceville Highway, crossed a lane of traffic, left the road, drove along the sidewalk, and struck and killed a woman and her six-year-old daughter. After hitting the pedestrians, the defendant came back to the roadway and kept driving for about a quarter of a mile, then parked in a business drive-thru. Witnesses told the police where he was.
Continue reading โ†’

Published on:

Sandy Springs, Dunwoody, Fulton, Gwinnett, DeKalb and Cobb County Hit-and-run lawyer

Nearly every week I’ll get a call from somebody who was involved in a hit-and-run situation. You may have left the scene for many different reasons. Within the next few days following a hit-and-run, it’s not uncommon to receive a call from a hit-and-run detective or police officer from the city or county in which the incident occurred. The detective wants to talk to you about what happened to get your version of the events. The detective or police officer will ask you to come to the station to discuss what happened. Don’t discuss the facts of the case on the phone. You have an absolute right to remain silent and not incriminate yourself. Immediately call an experienced criminal defense attorney to discuss your options. I’m not suggesting you don’t cooperate. You should consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer who handles these types of cases on a regular basis in the jurisdictions that your case occurred.

There are defenses to hit-and-run cases, and in many situations, I can get your charges reduced or dismissed depending on the facts of your case. In more serious cases, the detectives or the police officers can take out a warrant for your arrest for violating O.C.G.A. 40-6-270.

There is a right way and a wrong way to prepare yourself for court when you answer to the charges. A conviction for a hit-and-run can result in up to a $1,000.00 fine and/or 12 months in jail and the suspension of your Georgia driver’s license or your privilege to drive in the state of Georgia. Different laws apply to individuals under the age of 21. A conviction can lead to an increase of your auto insurance premiums and have serious repercussions on your job depending on what you do for a living.
Continue reading โ†’